+6
Under review

Connection to Client lost when switching users/logging out

rln2287 5 months ago updated by mbecker 3 weeks ago 17 1 duplicate

When connected to client, if I try to switch users on the client PC, I lose connection. This started 2 days ago. Frustrating when I start the connection, customer walks away, and I need to switch to the admin login to work and then can't get back in. I also can't give admin creds to the customer because no. Couldn't find any other notes like this. Any help is appreciated. For now, sent request to supervisors to enable auto-connect if client is inactive or Login screen is on.

ConnectWise Control Version:
21.4
Server Affected:
Host Client Affected:
Guest Client Affected:
OS:

Answer

-2
Answer

Hi,

Thanks for the report. We have tried to replicate this issue in house but could not succeed. Kindly contact our Support team for the further investigation.

https://www.connectwise.com/services/support

Thanks.

Duplicates 1

We have the same Problem if we want to change the User in Windows 10. If we connect to the Client PC we can connect but as soon as we`re changing to the Windows login screen we get disconnected. This problem occured after the latest Update.

-2
Answer

Hi,

Thanks for the report. We have tried to replicate this issue in house but could not succeed. Kindly contact our Support team for the further investigation.

https://www.connectwise.com/services/support

Thanks.

Hi, we're experiencing the same issue - the issue also started about 2-3 weeks ago like the original poster.

When we reboot a host, we then need to get consent from the user again when the machine comes back on. Similarly if we go to switch users/lock the PC we then need to gain consent from the user again in order to gain access.

We have been temporarily setting these hosts to Access sessions when we need to do tasks outside of the users login, or if we need to reboot.

Hi Ben,

What is the server version you are on? Is it the latest version? Please make sure your host and guest clients are also running the same version as your server.

If issue persists, please get back to us with additional info.

Thanks.

Server version is 21.6.3280.7796 as of writing on ConnectWise Control Cloud.

+1

Hi,

we are running Server & Guest & Host on version 21.6.3280.7796

We have the same problem as described from Ben. The only difference is, if the guest PC is locking the screen, we stay connected. But as soon as we try to log on to a different user, the user has to consent that again. 

+1

Now we are running Server & Guest & Host on Version 21.7.3489.7815, the problem still persists

Now we are running Server & Guest & Host on Version 21.8.3663.7830, the problem still persists

    so yeah, we are all up to date

    Now we are running Server & Guest & Host on Version 21.11.4237.7885, the problem still persists

      +1

      Hey,

      Like to clarify how to reproduce this error.  This occurs on my instance ONLY when I UNSELECT 

      "Auto Consent

      Automatically consent to control if no user process is running on the guest machine."

      If I check this, I can switch users normally.  Hope this helps.

      To add to this, when you switch users it just waits for consent, however end user system does not get prompted for consent.

      With this, I have "Consent Timeout

      When a partner provides consent to control, that consent will expire after this many seconds." Set to 3600 but this appears to not work.

      Will the user get the Consent to Control Prompt, if he is logged in?

      Hey mbecker,

      Yes if a user is logged in, they get a consent to control prompt that does appear.  After they click consent, then I get control.  If I try and switch users or log the user out, I can't do anything.


      Until they fix this bug our team is left instructing the end-user how to login to the local admin account with the temporary password that's randomly generated and updated.  Definitely not the ideal scenario.

      Hi, sorry for the late response. 

      Try to use the "Lock" button

      then you can see the lock screen, and log into the local admin, but the user has to consent as soon as you are logged in

      That's what we had to do to be able to switch users while working, but we didn't used to have to have that enabled previously. Any idea what changed?

      Still seems to be an issue.

      So now we have exactly the same Problem. We have updated from 20.11 to the last stable Relesase 21.10.

      Is this still under investgation ? Solution in sight ?