+33
Under Review

Clear Clipboard on Disconnect

Kahle P 3 years ago updated by swhite (Product Manager) 1 month ago 12

Having a feature to automatically clear the guests clipboard when disconnecting from a session. Having a shared clipboard can be very helpful in some circumstances. With clipboard history in Windows 10, this makes

While disabling Clipboard Sharing and using Send Clipboard Keystrokes achieves the same results, it would be nice to know the clipboard is cleared when disconnecting.

Available in Version:
+2

I agree on this one too... clear and without doubts.

+2

Yes very much needed - I would like to suggest flushing the clipboard for Guests and Hosts alike on disconnect.

+5

Yes, let's reduce security risk of accidental exposure to sensitive information on both MSP/Tech and client sides :)

As SteveIT said, flushing both sides on disconnect is crucial; I'd even go 1 further and say it should be on connect as well (or at least an option to flush on both sides similar to the Consent request)

+1

This would be very helpful for security.

+1

This would be a great feature as sometimes a tech might copy confidential info such as passwords and forget to clear the clipboard before disconnecting.

I have raised a ticket with ConnectWise and they said this would be a great enhancement and suggested to post on this forum and here gos my vote. Pity cannot vote multiple times :)

+3

Definitely a needed feature.

It would also be nice if we could set default Clipboard Sharing based on device type, either workstation or server.

So we could default it to On for Servers and Off for Workstations

+1

Ditto to all above^^

+2

This is a security issue so it should definitely be added!  Clearing the clipboard history in it's entirety on disconnect is critical so that passwords and other sensitive info isn't accidentally left on remote computer.

+2

I can't believe this hasn't been implemented yet considering how big of a security risk it is to not clear the clipboard history on the guest side, thereby leading to possible instances of guests gaining access to sensitive information inadvertently.  I always try and remember to clear the guest clipboard, but this should be done automatically.  Update on this????  Let's focus on some of these important security features and not aesthetic features...


The Essentials menu option 'Send Keyboard Clipstrokes' is independent of the shared clipboard and will allow your hosts to send what is on their clipboard without making it available on the clipboard of the guest machine.


This means that you can disable the clipboard as described here: https://docs.connectwise.com/ConnectWise_Control_Documentation/Get_started/Host_client/Essentials_menu/Clipboard_sharing_during_a_remote_session, but still be able to send the host clipboard to the guest machine.

As to the ability to clear clipboard upon disconnect, we have begun scoping this issue out, and I'd like to share some of the potential pain points we have regarding clipboard history in Windows 10 and 11


Clipboard history

  •  Windows 10 and 11 have clipboard history enabled which stores a lot of clipboard information (you can see this by hitting Windows Key + V (defaults to ON)
  • Can sync clipboards over multiple devices (defaults to OFF)
  •  'Pin' clipboard items available in a menu when viewing clipboard history.
  • Clear options in Windows settings clears everything across all devices EXCEPT pinned items


 Our philosophy has always been to be very careful when making a change that could impact the host or guest machine in an unintended way. In this case we wouldn't have knowledge of which clipboard content to clear; it would be very likely that we would be clearing information that was stored intentionally by the guest or the host, and affecting multiple devices.


That's not to say we won't do this, but would like to hear from our partners what they would expect the behavior to be if clipboard history is enabled.