0
Not a bug

Notes section automatically being deleted

Olen 2 years ago updated by Ben Burner 2 years ago 5

Hello,


I've had an issue (since version 5 I believe), where the notes of a client machine will be deleted. It seems to happen on a per user basis. In our system we would give John Smith access to a number of machines by typing in his username "John Smith" into the notes section of a remote computer. At times multiple users are affected (notes removed from their designated computers). Other times only one or two users will have the notes of their computers removed.
I've seen this issue discussed on the forums before but I'm unable to find anything on it at that this time. Could you point me in the right direction please?

ConnectWise Control Version:
19.5
Server Affected:
Host Client Affected:
Guest Client Affected:

Answer

Answer
Not a bug

We've made a change so that the AddedNote event is not automatically selected under the "Delete All Events" database maintenance plan action.


This change will be included in the forthcoming 6.6 release of ConnectWise Control.

Waiting for information

Good morning,


Based on the provided information, it sounds like your database maintenance plan is set to remove notes older than X number of days.


What does your server's database maintenance plan look like?


If notes for only a few users are intermittently removed, could it be that one or more of your hosts are inadvertently manually removing notes from the affected sessions?


Cheers,

Ben

Olen, this is definitely the maintenance plan thing - it was a catastrophic annoyance for us when we upgraded to 6.1. 6.3 offers the ability to exclude notes from the maintenance plan (it was actually the first setting i validated after installing 6.4 tonight).

Thanks for the validation. I've confirmed our hosted server is on 6.4, our clients however are still on 6.1. I will be upgrading them and will be keeping an eye on everything. As it seems to be happening monthly, I'll check back in a while from now with an update.


My pleasure. You'll want to check the setting at admin, database, maintenance plan options. Look for "Access: Delete All Events" and edit it to uncheck "AddedNote". I also uncheck "SentMessage" so I have a more permanent chat log. This process runs EVERY DAY by default, so anything older than the age threshold in the "Delete All Events" item will be purged on a daily basis. Good luck!

Answer
Not a bug

We've made a change so that the AddedNote event is not automatically selected under the "Delete All Events" database maintenance plan action.


This change will be included in the forthcoming 6.6 release of ConnectWise Control.