-7
Closed

Fix the broken file transfer feature in the toolbox

Merlin 3 years ago updated by anonymous 3 years ago 4
When I bought ScreenConnect I had the ability to download files/apps directly from our server to a C:\Work folder that was OUTSIDE of all profiles. Then.. someone rewrote the feature and really broke it. They removed the ability to change folder and the folder my programs download to are in a Temp folder that is cleared on disconnect. Let me list all the reasons this really sucks and why you need to fix it.

  • I am downloading my tools to remove viruses to a DOCUMENTS folder.
  • I am downloading installs to the DOWNLOADS folder.
  • If an install reboots the computer the folder gets cleared and I have to re-download everyti8ng.
  • I work on computers with bad internet in countries that charge for transfer. Everytime the internet drops I have to re-download everything costing the client more money and costing TONS of time.
  • If I am installing a program on a restricted user the install lands in their Documents folder. When I authenticate to the admin account it no longer has access to the restricted users documents folder.
  • Often I have to switch between user accounts to redo a task with the file. When I switch user accounts I no longer have access to the file.
  • When I download the files I often actually need to save them. They are deleted and lost on disconnect.
  • Browsing to the files to do the installs through all the documents the client has is often tedious and impossible. It is much easier to just hold the WinKey and press R then type C:\Work and hit enter.
  • This app was billed to me as a tech tool made by techs for techs... It seems you changed this tool to service business men using this to work from home or something.. Not sure why you would change this feature so drastically and break it so badly.
  • When removing viruses the tools often need to reboot as part of the task. After reboot they are no longer there and cannot complete their task.
  • To avoid a lot of this we have to constantly go to the folder and move the files manually to another location. This is costing me a LOT of money in time/labor.

In conclusion... This was a total bait and switch. The product is no longer what it was promised to be at purchase. You have opened yourself up to a lawsuit. Not just for the product but for all the labor involved in setup, discovery and use of your product prior to switching to a different product. It would be deeply appreciated if you would put that feature back the way it was. If you have people that need a temporary file transfer area.. Create a NEW feature FOR THEM. Or a switch. (:

Thank you so much!


Available in Version:

Answer

Answer

Hi Merlin, You said the file was being written to a temp file which makes me think you're confusing the toolbox option and the file transfer option. The toolbox is meant for immediate execution of .exe and .bat scripts not for a file transfer, hence the change to save the toolbox item in a temp file vs storing it on a customer's machine. Our copy and paste/drag and drop option as well as the file transfer option do give you more flexibility on where a file is placed. This will allow you to store it for later use.


Toolbox: https://help.screenconnect.com/Using_the_shared_toolbox

File Transfer: https://help.screenconnect.com/File_transfer_menu


When we started writing to the temp folder for the toolbox items, we also included the .scapp function.


A .scapp file is basically a renamed .zip archive that the ScreenConnect Toolbox knows to handle a bit differently. When a .scapp file is executed from the Toolbox, it copies all of the tool's contents into the same directory on the remote machine and then executes the first item alphabetically. So if you have a tool that must run from a certain directory, you can create a .bat file that copies the tool into this directory and then executes it.


After creating the .bat file, ensure that it is named correctly, create a .zip file of both items, change the .zip extension to .scapp, and then copy it into your ScreenConnect Toolbox. Each time this .scapp is executed, it will copy the .exe to the specified location and then execute it, saving a few clicks for the Host.


I hope this information is helpful.

Answer

Hi Merlin, You said the file was being written to a temp file which makes me think you're confusing the toolbox option and the file transfer option. The toolbox is meant for immediate execution of .exe and .bat scripts not for a file transfer, hence the change to save the toolbox item in a temp file vs storing it on a customer's machine. Our copy and paste/drag and drop option as well as the file transfer option do give you more flexibility on where a file is placed. This will allow you to store it for later use.


Toolbox: https://help.screenconnect.com/Using_the_shared_toolbox

File Transfer: https://help.screenconnect.com/File_transfer_menu


When we started writing to the temp folder for the toolbox items, we also included the .scapp function.


A .scapp file is basically a renamed .zip archive that the ScreenConnect Toolbox knows to handle a bit differently. When a .scapp file is executed from the Toolbox, it copies all of the tool's contents into the same directory on the remote machine and then executes the first item alphabetically. So if you have a tool that must run from a certain directory, you can create a .bat file that copies the tool into this directory and then executes it.


After creating the .bat file, ensure that it is named correctly, create a .zip file of both items, change the .zip extension to .scapp, and then copy it into your ScreenConnect Toolbox. Each time this .scapp is executed, it will copy the .exe to the specified location and then execute it, saving a few clicks for the Host.


I hope this information is helpful.

-3

Thank you very much for responding in detail and so quickly!!! However...


Nope, not even remotely helpful. But it makes you guys look VERY silly.


I do not think you really read what I wrote as I indicated in my post I was in fact pulling down installs (.exe/.msi/.cmd [bat was win3.1]) from the toolbox and trying to install them. I suggest you go back and REread what I wrote with a clear open mind.


Are you saying you are intentionally downloading .bat and .exe files (PROGRAMS) from my toolbox, not intended for my cleint, into my clients DOCUMENTS folder in HIS profile? You do understand what the word "Documents" means??? I think someone changed that and it was realized after the fact. Then instead of solving the problem, and putting it back, you monkeyed it by just deleting everything on disconnect.


You COMPLETELY changed the nature of this feature. It has greatly changed the product you sold me. It went from an amazing and effective feature to something VERY different.


I think you forgot that some people use this service over a WAN and not just a LAN.


Having stated to me the nature of the toolbox I question your sanity for changing it the way you have. If I am downloading an .exe file to install or in many cases a tool to clear a virus... WHY oh WHY would I want to stay connected during that entire time? I am forced to though.. because if the connection drops part way or I disconnect the install gets hosed and sometimes even the computer does. Why would you risk having executable files not intended for the client, left in the clients profile? In his documents folder of all places?


Please put this feature BACK the way it was. If you are trying something new.. please try something NEW and leave this one in place.


I have complained to your office many times over the past 8 or so months about this. I always get blown off. I finally had someone tell me to post here when I complained loud enough. Read my bullet points in the original post.. you will see this amazing feature, and the reason I bought your product, has been butchered.


We were very much in love with your product and found your product to be immensely useful UNTIL you made this very weird switch.


If you choose not to fix this I will be holding you liable for all the time and money we have invested into learning and cultivating your product as we move to another one. And I will be very public about it.


As a client who uses this daily as a technician, perhaps you should call me and find out how it is used and you can fix this.


I will tell you this....

Give me two switches and I will smile and go away...

One to direct the place it downloads to.. (sound familiar?)

And one to stop it from being temporary. (stay on disconnect).

If you want to be super fancy, add a button to clear the download folder instead of doing it automatically for users like me who are doing bigger tasks from further away. Although I would never use it because I *like* to leave my tools behind for later use.